Maxi Peel Zero Micro Exfoliant Fluid Review & Introduction.

Hi Everyone! This marks my first post in this blog. And to tell you ahead, there will be a lot more. I will be blogging primarily about my skincare (and probably makeup), travelling and art. I guarantee that I will be giving you honest reviews and will recommend products that worked for me (and will give insights to the product that didn’t work for me as well).

Anyway for this post, I will be reviewing the Maxi Peel Zero – Micro Exfoliant Solution. You read that right! Maxipeel is from Splash and they sell pretty affordable products with great ingredients. So without further ado, let’s get started.

What is Maxipeel Zero?

It is an exfoliant solution that contains different AHA’s, BHA and antioxidants. Here’s a picture of how it looks like.

17274152_1841230366158306_278651481_n

Where to buy and how much?

79.00 Php (1.5 USD) for 50 ml. Any drugstores in the Philippines.

What’s in it?

Alcohol Denat, Aqua, Niacinamide, Glycolic Acid, Lactic Acid, Salicylic Acid, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sodium Ascorbate, Tocopherol, Retinol, PEG-40, Hydrogenated castor Oil, Fragrance, Tetrahydrodiferuloylmethane, Bisabolol, Menthol.

What’s good about it?

So you see? This have a very good set of ingredients except that we have alcohol on the first ingredients list.The words in bold letters are the active ingredients. Let’s break down the active ingredients more.

To start with, we have Niacinamide, also known as vitamin B3. This is a star ingredient and I’m happy that is is high on the ingredients list. Some of the benefits of niacinamide are lightening dark spots, improves enlarged pores,fine lines and make skin barrier stronger. (1) This also have Glycolic Acid and Lactic Acid, alpha hydroxy acids (AHA) which helps sheds dead skin cells and renew its surface. (2). Another ingredient high on the list is Salicylic Acid which is a beta hydroxy acid (BHA). A very good exfoliant as it is oil solube and can clean the gunk out of your pores. It also unglues the glue that attaches the top most layer of the skin causing it to slough of. In addition to that, this acid has soothing properties and calms down redness and irritation.(3)  We also have Sodium Ascorbate (Vitamin C) & Tocopehrol (Vitamin E) which are know anti oxidants to ward of free radical damage on a day to day basis.

And lastly, we have Retinol  probably the best ingredients on the list if used correctly.This improves finelines, wrinkles, retexturizes skin, builds collagen, increases skin cell turn over and improves the appearance of dark spots and sun damage. (6)

So you might be wondering if this Maxipeel will cause those black spots from incorrectly using other Maxipeel Exfoliant Solutions (1,2,3 and 4). The answer is no, you won’t get those. This exfoliant solution does NOT have hydroquinone in it which is a whitening agent and is a controversial ingredient till this date.

What’s not so good about it?

Alcohol Denat – this is used as a solvent for salicylic acid and is used to break the skin barrier and make the ingredients penetrate the skin. Downside is alcohol can be dehydrating to the skin. Tocopherol, Castor Oil & Fragrance are possible acne triggers as well. (see cosdna.com for ingrdients reference). With that being said, using this everyday can be a bit harsh as it totally dehydrated my nose causing my skin to be a bit wrinkly. Please use with caution and listen to what your skin says.

How to use?

Preferably used at night because of the amount of actives the product have. Use it after cleansing and wait for 10-20 minutes before applying your moisturizer. My skin is prone to drying and dehydration so what I do is to use a short contact therapy. I apply the product, wait for 10 minutes and wash it of with water and proceed with the rest of my skin care routine.

Does it work?

I have been using this product for almost  month now and I can confidently say it does. It makes my skin very smooth after 10 minutes of application. It calmed down my pimples and healed my active acne. As for lightening dark spots, I can  definitely see an improvement on my hyperpigmentation and dark acne spots from healed acne. With continous use, I am sure that this will continue to improve my skins appearance and texture.

Recommend / Repurchase?

Yes, I recommend it as it is very hard to look for a good exfoliant here in the Philippines that delivers for this price. Drugstore products like this are usually loaded with drying ingredients which makes acne worse. With regards to repurchasing the product, I am waiting for my Paula’s choice BHA 2% liquid that I ordered online. I will probably switch to PC 2% BHA exfoliant as it doesn’t contain alcohol. But Maxipeel Zero – Micro Exfoliant Solution is still very good and a cheap alternative for the price. Remember not to use it every night as it can be drying.

Leave a Reply

